Welcome To The Isle Of MisFit Toys! Pt 4

29 July ‘14 2230 hours

I just invented a neck-lanyard style night light for my duck out of one of my headlamps.

“You….what?!?!?”

You heard me.  I didn’t stutter.  I just invented a neck-lanyard style night light for my duck out of one of my headlamps.  Just below the clock on corner post of my ‘Summer Kitchen’ is a thermometer that reads 74 degrees.  At 2230 hours.  In the Pacific NorthWest.  And for those of you NOT from this part of the country- that is a freakin’ heatwave.

“What the heck does that hafta do with you inventing a whatchamacallit for your duck?”

Well, about an hour ago, Abbi, Ryatt, Lilli, Huggi and I were all lying in our respective sleeping areas, sweltering in our own perspiration, when Abbi gets up and walks outta the room, muttering “Swim, swim.  Swim, swim.” under his breathe as he left.  This being odd behavior for him, my curiosity lifted me outta my repose to follow him.  He shuffles thru the cabin, checking all the daytime exits, stopping at each one, turning to me, saying “Swim, swim.” and shuffles on to the next door.  Getting to the last door in the cabin, he turns and says, “Swim, swim! Swim, swim! Swim, swim!”  What was I sposed to say to that? I thought he was gonna throw a duck-tantrum, like the kind his late-wife Rosalita used to do and start stomping his feet!  But, you can’t deny, He had a Groovi idea and we both knew it, so I grabbed the two headlamps hanging by the door and opened it to be led by my duck down the stairs of the three decks and to the trailhead to his pond, all the while he repeats his new mantra we learned this week- “Swim, swim! Swim, swim!.”

This also being coon country, and currently touted in the local papers as being heavy with a coon population explosion this year, I grabbed him before he could begin his descent down the steps I’ve been cutting, facing with 2x’s and staking with whatever I can scrounge up recently, and shortening the 2 elastic head bands as far as they would go, I slid it over his head to hang around his neck like a headlight on a tricycle.  If you just simmer on that image for a minute longer, you may come to realize, it pretty much looked like the same thing…. in the dark.Winking smile

So, me and my tricycle…. I mean my Duck Open-mouthed smile took our very first skinny dip in his now approximate 12’X18’X1-1/2’ pond on ‘Audri’s Creek’, together!

No really…. I feel rotten that your summer sucks compared to mine, so far. Crying face This is my ‘sincere’ face:  Surprised smile

I also want to take this minute to apologize to my Faithful Stalkers for there being no photograph’s for this 4th post, as you have by now I’m sure come to expect, but alas- my 2-AA batteries specific to electronic devices are beyond dead, as well as my source of income (all of my egg-layers have been murdered or taken by the ‘Wildlings’), so unless my Loyal Readers decide they cannot live without the fabulous photographic journalism that they have come here to witness the Technicolor reality of life off-the-grid, and feel the overwhelming drive to send a donation to Abbi’s “Feed The Ducks” Fund in a post made here earlier this year, or  even a package of aforementioned electronic device type- AA batteries directly to Abbi’s Mommee @ 110 E Tree Top Ln, Shelton, WA 98584, then I’m afraid we shall all be forced to use our own boring imaginations hereafter. (I would include my sketches that I’ve been making since the loss of use of ‘my Precious’ digi-cam, but that too requires 2-cycle mixxed fuel to run ‘Genny’, to scan my sketches to include in this and future posts, that sit waiting for a ride off-Island to steal 15 minutes of Wi-Fi to keep you Kidz updated, “to catch the cat that caught the rat…”-oops!  Please disregard that very poor sense of ancient humour that just slipped in there!)  Yes, we know how much that would truly suck, don’t we…..

Anyway, as it seems I’m so very slow a night-typer, I need to save this draft and sign-off for now, before my laptop battery kicks the can as well.  We used the last of our 2 cycle oil mixxed fuel for our genny when Abbi & I threw a swim party for ourselves earlier today down at Abbi’s pond where we absolutely had to have music to “swim, swim” by.  And all of our candles have been used up, along with our little green propane tanks for the lanterns.  And the headlamp batteries are getting dim….. O dear- it seems our resources are dwindling fast and Fall hasn’t even fell yet!  Dear odear….. it seems we hafta make some backup plans for our coffee contemplation hour in the mornin’ I guess…… owell- Y’all try to get some rest despite the heat tonight and we’ll….. well, hopefully use some very colorfully descriptive vocabulary words for y’all on our next episode from The Isle Of MisFit Toys- Pt 5!!

C-Ya!!

Violet & Abbi

The Groovi-est, Purple-Beaded, Ever-Laughin', Dukk-Lovin', Barefoot, Dirt-Farmin', Hippi Chikki that you'll ever have the Sublime Pleasure to get to know!

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Adventures of a Wild Island VIOLET!
One comment on “Welcome To The Isle Of MisFit Toys! Pt 4
  1. InfiniteZip says:

    So very glad to see you dipping with the duck, I always thought Washington was always cold and rainy;) be well friend.talk soon.

    Kim Laettner

    >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Follow DukkSheit Happens………. on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 163 other followers

Composted DukkSheit….
Cloaking Device Failure...
  • 3,289 crashes into my T.A.R.D.I.S.
I Am Free To Date On…..
August 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Strangers I Follow….
Other Weirdos Like Me!
Goodreads
Please Help Feed the Duxx Fund
A snap a day

One person's 365 photography project completed but still sharing

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Survival Sherpa

Helping each other on the climb to self-reliance and preparedness...the Survival Sherpa way...One step at a time.

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

A Kiss of Death

Beauty. Lifestyle. Illnesses. ...and Ultimately Me...

The Lavender Letters

Deepest thoughts retold from dreams

The Green Fairy

She tempts

Spinning Webbs

The Art & Craft Of A Magickal Life

The Story Of A Guy

A Journey Through The Eyes Of A Guy

Retreat, Refresh, & Reflect

A Place to Relax and Renew with Julie Ann Monzi

Meredith's Reveries

Think, read, write

Blessed Be Garden's Blog

Welcome to Blessed Be Garden, the Entrance to your Journey

hocuspocus13

Magickal Arts

Words Read and Written

Ramblings of an aspiring author & book blogger

HarsH ReaLiTy

A Good Blog is Hard to Find

wishingstardiary

A great WordPress.com site

thenarcissistwrites

"Narcissistic personality disorder (NPD) is a personality disorder in which a person is excessively preoccupied with personal adequacy, power, prestige and vanity, mentally unable to see the destructive damage they are causing to themselves and to others in the process."

Eclectic odds n sods

Parenting, Pet Tales, Humour & Photography

Holding together the jello

The adventures of a single dad

Purple's Platitudes

nothing but words ...

Hopeful Circus

A topnotch WordPress.com site

toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

THE CREATIVE PALACE FOR ARTISTS AND AUTHOR RESOURCES

scarredgirl13's Blog

The life and words of a girl fighting depression and difficult times

Labeled Disabled

The journey of a woman moving beyond labels and disabilities to embrace her true essence and path.

Dancing in the Isles of Life

Navigating the Seas of Motherhood

amacowardguy

A purely selfish blog intended only to improve the author's writing skills!

Marie A Marvel

On a magnetic mission to liberate

The Flannel Files

Rae Theodore's BUTCH blog about living in the middle of girl/boy

Crone Confidence

Wise, older woman is the most powerful brand females come in.

Northwest Red Head

An occasionally crafty, supposed grown up, plant killing dachshund wrangler living in the pacific northwest

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

behindthemaskofabuse

Abuse,narcissism,survival,there is hope,poetry,art,photography

bunny slippers

complete nonesense

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

Teela Hart

Surviving Domestic Violence

GOD{isms}

...finding Gods truths in random places.

Diane Tibert

~ writer - editor - publisher ~

2me4art

amy begun saab ~life as i see it. a Vermonter deeply entrenched in Alabama dirt...so i plant flowers.

vic briggs

A writer adrift

Lydia Devadason

An Idiot's Guide to Parenting

